If you’re considering becoming a surrogate, you probably have many questions: What are the qualifications to become a surrogate? How does the process work? Which surrogacy agency should I work with? (To get the answers to these questions, just follow the links!)
One of the most common questions we hear is about surrogate compensation. This is always an important consideration when you’re planning your surrogacy journey, but given the uncertainty we’ve all experienced over the last few years, and with inflation being particularly high right now, compensation is especially relevant.
We want to ensure you have the most accurate information possible about surrogate compensation in 2022. Read on to learn more.
Where can I get paid to be a surrogate?
In the U.S., gestational surrogacy agreements aren’t legal in all 50 states. Each state determines the legality of surrogacy agreements, and laws vary considerably from one state to the next.
“Surrogacy-friendly” states have statutes recognizing and permitting surrogacy, or they have no law prohibiting surrogacy. In these states, compensated and uncompensated surrogacy agreements are allowed.
The following states are considered surrogacy-friendly:
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New York
- Rhode Island
The following states allow surrogacy, but the legal protection for surrogates and intended parents is a little more uncertain:
- New Jersey
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- New Mexico
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
The only state considered “non-surrogacy friendly” is Michigan. Michigan laws prohibit paid surrogacy and surrogacy contracts are void and unenforceable. Altruistic (or uncompensated) surrogacy, however, is legal in Michigan.
How is surrogate compensation determined?
Compensation for surrogates varies by agency and depends on the surrogate mother’s level of experience and the details of her surrogacy journey.
In addition to the base fee, she may receive a monthly allowance that covers unaccountable expenses related to the pregnancy. There are additional compensation amounts in the event that she has a multiple pregnancy (twins, etc.), c-section, health insurance that is approved by a third party for coverage of the surrogacy, and more.
When do surrogates get paid?
Every surrogacy agency is different, so the timelines will vary. However, most agencies will start paying the surrogate’s base compensation when pregnancy is confirmed with a heartbeat. The frequency of payments varies from agency to agency.
At SPS, you will receive a signing bonus once contracts are signed and legal clearance is issued. Then, you will begin to receive the monthly uncountable allowance to cover expenses. The base compensation begins after the second heartbeat confirmation.
How much will I get paid as a surrogate with SPS?
Surrogate Parenting Services offers one of the most competitive benefits packages in California. Our base compensation is $60,000 for first-time surrogates, and $70,000 for surrogates who have had at least one or more journeys.
Our surrogates also receive $10,000 in guaranteed extras, which includes a maternity clothing allowance, a housekeeping allowance once you are pregnant, our exclusive pamper package to treat yourself to something special throughout the pregnancy, and more.
Learn More About Becoming a Surrogate with Surrogate Parenting Services
Surrogate Parenting Services is proud to celebrate over 30 years of helping to bring dreams to life! Founded in 1990, Surrogate Parenting Services (SPS) is a full-service surrogacy program that offers both parties an exceptionally supportive environment throughout the surrogacy relationship. We’re passionate about creating ideal matches between surrogates and intended parents, so the journey is fulfilling for both sides and the future child is brought into this world in the best possible circumstances.
Learn more about our Surrogacy Program online or by calling (949) 363-9525.
Keep In Touch